Silence

When I need to disconnect, I head to the woods.
Right now I am sitting on a bench, alongside the Kiski River. The Westmoreland Heritage Trail, like other rails-to-trails projects, is a glorious thing. Following long forgotten railways, they offer a view that is precious to we “city-dwellers”. And the sound…
Yes, there is noise. A distant plane passing over, a far away car. What I listen for is the crunch of the squirrel running to gather acorns, the crows as they circle, the hiccup in the Kiski when she encounters a boulder, the rustle of the dry leaves as the wind blows, that is the silence I crave.
Surely not silence by definition, but for me it’s welcome. In a day filled with bustling traffic, needy kids(or parents), that ominous hum of florescent lights and the tap-tap-tap as we mindlessly type on our computers, this is the noise I need.
This earth, and this silence, fill me with spirit. Not of the religious sort, just a peace-I am connected. If I wasn’t, why would I need this?
The words of Carolyn McDade are my mantra as I hit the trail once more.
“Spirit of Life, come unto me.
Sing in my heart all the stirrings of compassion.
Blow in the wind, rise in the sea;
Move in the hand, giving life the shape of justice.
Roots hold me close; wings set me free;
Spirit of Life, come to me, come to me.”
Peace friends and Blessed Be

IMG_1881.JPG

Leave a Reply

